Best Patent Bar Review Courses Compared (2026)
An honest, feature-by-feature comparison of the major patent bar prep courses — based on publicly listed pricing and features, last verified September 2026. Always confirm current details on each vendor's site.
| Course | Price | Format | Questions | Mock exams | Pass rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patent Bar StudioOur pickComplete prep for less than one exam retake | $599 one-time | Guided MPEP study + adaptive practice | Exam-style bank with MPEP citations | Full-length timed simulations | Analytics-driven (track your own readiness) |
| PLI Patent Bar ReviewEstablished brand, lecture-heavy | $1,495–$2,895 | Video lectures + live instruction options | Practice questions included | Practice exams included | Not publicly disclosed |
| WysebridgeStrong practice focus, verified pass data | $189/mo or $594 one-time | Self-paced online platform | 2,500+ incl. 900+ real USPTO questions (per Wysebridge) | Prometric-style simulator | 81% first-attempt (vendor-published) |
| Patent Education SeriesBudget lecture option | $500–$800 | Video lectures | Custom-written bank | Practice exams included | Not publicly disclosed |
| PatBar / OmniPrepLowest-cost entry point | ~$495 | Self-study materials | Practice question sets | Practice exams | Not publicly disclosed |
Competitor pricing and features from publicly available vendor pages and university law-library guides; pass-rate figures are vendor-published where noted. Verify before purchasing — prices and packages change.
Buyer's guide
How to choose a patent bar review course
MPEP-cited practice questions
Every question should explain the answer and cite the exact MPEP section. That is how review doubles as navigation training for the searchable exam.
Timed mock exams
Six hours across two 50-question sessions with five choices each. If a course can't simulate that pressure, it can't build your stamina.
Adaptive prioritization
Chapter 2100 alone is ~45% of released questions. Your study time should follow exam weight and your personal weak spots — not a fixed calendar.
Total cost vs. retake math
Each attempt costs $565 in government and Prometric fees. A course that gets you through on attempt one is cheaper than a budget option plus a retake.
FAQ
Course comparison FAQs
What is the best patent bar review course?
The best course depends on how you learn, but prioritize MPEP-cited practice questions, timed mock exams, and adaptive study planning over passive video hours. Compare price against what a $565 retake costs — an efficient course pays for itself by helping you pass the first time.
How much do patent bar review courses cost?
Prices range from about $495 (budget self-study) to $1,495–$2,895 (PLI lecture programs). Mid-range adaptive platforms run roughly $594–$599 one-time or around $189/month. Patent Bar Studio Pro is $599 one-time with unlimited access.
Is PLI worth it for the patent bar?
PLI suits learners who want lecture-based grounding from an established brand and have the budget and calendar for it. Practice-heavy candidates often pair it with — or choose instead — an adaptive question bank, since the exam rewards timed retrieval practice more than passive review.
Should I trust published pass rates?
Ask for methodology: first-attempt vs. eventual, cohort size, and date range. Few providers publish verified data. Be skeptical of precise claims without published methodology, and of any claim of USPTO endorsement — the USPTO endorses no prep course.
Full prep for less than one retake
Patent Bar Studio Pro: $599 one-time. Guided MPEP study, cited practice questions, mock exams, and analytics.